MEET THE TUTORS

janet 2022.JPG

Hi I'm  Janet and I'm the director of Cheshire Language Academy. I would like to introduce you to the tutors for this semester - which is September 2022 to February 2023.

DSCF0644_edited.jpg

Ruth - Tutor & Course Co-ordinator          SPECIALISMS: Elementary, Cambridge Preliminary (PET), French

BACKGROUND: I studied Modern Languages at university (Arabic and Spanish) and I also speak French fluently. I lived in the Netherlands for 2 years in the 1990s and taught English there. I have been teaching English and French for more than 20 years.

ABOUT ME: I have lived in Frodsham for over 25 years, but originally I am from Cheltenham. I am married to Graham and I have three children who are all adults now. I love gardening and walking in the mountains, especially in North Wales and the Lake District.

Alison M Aug 2020.jpg

Alison - tutor          SPECIALISMS: Beginners, Elementary and German

BACKGROUND:  At university I studied German and Business. I went to China where I studied Mandarin for 6 months and then went to live in Germany for four years, teaching English to young children and school leavers.

ABOUT ME: I was born in Lancashire on a dairy farm and my family still lives there.  I now live in Cheshire with my husband Dave and our three young children. I like singing in a local choir and I love baking cakes from my German recipe book!

PAUL ROUSKI 2022.png

Paul - tutor          SPECIALISMS: Beginner and Intermediate

BACKGROUND:

I gained a BA in English Language and a MSc in Language Sciences (Chester and Reading University), which helped fuel my passion for language learning, processing and production. After teaching Business Enterprise days around high schools across North West England for a couple of years, I gained my CELTA qualification in Manchester. I then started teaching TEFL in 2019, to a range of ages and abilities.

ABOUT ME:

I have a very keen interest in music and theatre, as well as stand-up comedy. Aside from this, I am also an eager quizzer, and host quiz events in local venues and online, as well as participate in these weekly!

jane 2022.jpg

Jane- tutor            SPECIALISMS:  Elementary English

BACKGROUND:

I have a modern languages degree and lived in France for a year teaching English.  For 33 years I worked as a primary school teacher and a children's ESOL teacher in Warrington. I am very excited about working at Cheshire Language Academy.

ABOUT ME:

I was born in Lincolnshire but have lived in Warrington most of my life.  I am married and have three grown up daughters, along with a labradoodle puppy called Rio.  I teach rowing once a week.  I also enjoy yoga and taking my puppy on long walks along the coast and in the Lake District.

alethea.jpeg

Alethea- tutor            SPECIALISMS: B2/C1 advanced levels and IELTS

BACKGROUND:

I am an experienced teacher (for over 30 years).  In the last 13 years I have taught ESOL in both Belgium and Switzerland, with students from 4 - 80+ years old. I have taught both general business English as well as IELTS. I have also been a Cambridge examiner.

ABOUT ME:

I love travelling, dance, painting and walking my dog.

lyudmila 2022.jpg

Mila - tutor            SPECIALISMS: Beginner and elementary levels

BACKGROUND:

I have a masters degree in Philology (translation) and have done this job, as well as ESOL teaching, for the past 12 years.

ABOUT ME:

I was born in a small town in Ukraine off the coast of Azov so I love the sea and various outdoor activities. Although I love reading, I am thankful to those who invented audiobooks, otherwise all the housework would remain undone!

TONG 2022.jpg

Tong - tutor            SPECIALISMS: Speaking, beginner and elementary levels

BACKGROUND:

I studied Economics at Liverpool University.  I speak English, Cantonese, Mandarin and Hakka.  I first taught English in Hong Kong in 1989.  It gives me great satisaction to see people improve their English and thus gain confidence and improve their lives.

ABOUT ME:

I was born in Liverpool and now live in Warrington with my wife and two daughters.  I run a martial arts centre teaching Kung Fu and Tai Chi.